What is the place of a photographer today – an interview with Anastasia Taylor-Lind

Versione italiana in fondo.

Photojournalism is a word muttered by many, understood by a few, embodied by even fewer people. One has to be careful when dealing with it, its meaning being often overexposed, misused, stretched to doubtful borders. Nevertheless, Anastasia Taylor-Lind truly deserves this word, her work striking that perfect balance between realism and poetry, accuracy and wonder. In her work, she mixes field research, interviews, video and mail art, a complex system we were eager to understand through her words. Here’s to you a most illuminating interview with Anastasia, also teacher of the workshop “Creating intimate, long-form narratives” during this year’s edition of Photo Workshop New York!

© Anastasia Taylor-Lind / Women of the Cossak Resurgence

Hello Anastasia, would you like to tell us something about yourself? Who are you?
Who am I? I am a person who has decided that I want to live my life in a way that is engaged with the world, that gives me rich experiences and allows me to understand as fully as possible what it means to be alive. That’s the driving force for everything that I do.

How did it all start for you with photography? What are your memories of your first shots?
Well, you see, photography is something that enables all those things, it enables you to go out in the world, to give oneself a sense of purpose, a meaning, it enables a lifestyle that means I can continue to be curious about the world, I can ask “but why, but why, but why…”, I can really look at people, places, situations to see things deeply. Photography is the reason behind my career choices but also behind my personal choices, the life that I created for myself. I decided I wanted to be a photojournalist when I was sixteen, but of course back then I did not have this full understanding of what being a photojournalist would mean, but I had a pretty good idea that it would be my ticket to go out from where I came from and meet people I wouldn’t have ever met, to see places I would have never seen otherwise.

How did your personal research evolve in time? You deal with issues such as war, birth rate (The National Womb), gender issues, how do you choose your projects?
I simply follow my interests and my curiosity, and my – sometimes – quite impulsive intuitive reaction when I hear about places and people that just tell me I have to go there. My work is usually self-initiated, rarely assigned; this is really important for me because it allows me to follow my intuitive sense. This is right about my photography but also about my writing, my research, my studies as well.

© Anastasia Taylor-Lind / The National Womb

Do you have a particular interest towards Eastern Europe, considering your works (The National Womb, Welcome to Donetsk)?
I love working in Eastern Europe and Russia! I also love working in the Middle East, I lived in the Middle East for three years, first in Syria and then Lebanon. I really feel at home in that part of the world; I love the food, I usually follow my stomach when it comes to deciding!

In “Welcome to Donetsk” you use many different forms of art and media (writing, video, mail art), how did you choose them?
I’m writing a book about photography, war and the representation of war, so writing is part of what I do. I don’t want to limit myself with photography; when I was starting out as a photojournalist I would have so many ideas and pass them because I said “I’m a photographer, I’m going to take photographs”, but I’m much looser now. If there’s a story I want to tell, then I’m happy to use video, still photographs, postcards, written words or spoken words. Photojournalism is a really good ground for storytelling; for example to write means going into a place, reporting and really trying to see what’s happening. If I’m working on a socially concerned project, like Welcome to Donetsk, the basis of this project is photojournalistic but the realisation is something different.

How about social media?
I see social media as another tool, I like experimenting with them and when I do I create projects specifically for Instagram and Facebook, just like videos that show what I’m really seeing when I shoot portraits. It’s amazing to shoot videos so easily, just like putting pictures on Instagram. I feel that you need to be open-minded when approaching with all the tools we have at disposal now, it’s a really exciting way of working!

© Anastasia Taylor-Lind / Welcome to Donetsk

What do you most like about teaching? What kind of teacher you are?
I like teaching because the process reminds me how much I love photography. I always get as much inspiration and energy from being in a classroom with a group of photographers, looking at photographs, talking about photographs, considering what it means to be a photographer. This kind of conversation is really exciting and energising to me, I always learn as much as I’m able to depart in terms of knowledge.

What do you think about the common dominating aesthetics in photography?
The idea of a common aesthetics is prevalent even among photographers; I think that’s a big problem. The lack of aesthetics might come from the fact that the majority of photojournalists are straight white men from the Western countries, we end up with loads of people that look the same. These are issues I have been researching and working on for two years now, and I hope we will have conversations about these things during the workshop.

What kind of relationship do you have with the city of New York?
It’s a city that I love, and I would like to suggest the instagram profiles of some photographers who have a very peculiar way of portraying New York.
Ruddy Roy @ruddyroye
Amr Alfiqy @amr_alfiqy
Peter Van Agtmael @pvanagtmael

© Anastasia Taylor-Lind / Portraits from the Black Square

What would you suggest to all those who are going to experience a workshop like this for the first time?

When we are together discussing, students should be expected to come with openness, honesty, the will to share their own experiences and the sense of what they do. I hope we can create an environment that fosters dialogue among some of the challenging issues of photography. “What’s the place of a photographer today”, that’s one thing I would like to discuss. At the same time, we will work on editing, sequencing, putting together a photo story, we will be both focussed and pulled back.
Moreover, I would definitely recommend some books such as:
“Believing is seeing – observations on the mysteries of photography” by Errol Morris
“Regarding the pain of others” by Susan Sontag
“Ways of seeing” by John Berger

If you could choose a person from the past, who would you like to be?
I guess it would be a photographer because it would be very exciting to take photographs in the ‘20s or ‘30s! One of the reasonsI love photography so much is that it’s the closest thing we have to a time travel, I guess I would have loved to be Roger Fenton covering the Crimean War, in a waggon with my dog!

Subscriptions open for the workshop “Creating intimate long-form narratives” with Anastasia Taylor-Lind are still open! Early Bird promo on all subscriptions entered by May 5!

For more information, you can check the workshop page or contact us directly at info@photoworkshopnewyork.com.

The workshop is open to everyone — of any age, nationality and level of photographic experience. We hope to see you at #PWNY2017!

___________________________italiano__________________________

“Fotogiornalismo” è una parola sulla bocca di molti, capita da pochi e “incarnata” da ancora meno persone. Si tratta di un termine da utilizzare con attenzione, essendo ormai sovraesposto, e il cui significato è molto spesso dilatato senza troppo ritegno.
Tuttavia, Anastasia Taylor-Lind merita ampiamente di essere riconosciuta come “fotogiornalista”, grazie al suo lavoro sempre in equilibrio tra realismo e poesia, accuratezza e meraviglia. Nei suoi progetti Anastasia unisce ricerca sul campo, interviste, elementi audiovisivi, lettere, in un sistema complesso che abbiamo avuto il privilegio di discutere con lei. A voi quindi la nostra intervista in vista del workshop “Creating intimate, long-form narratives” che Anastasia terrà durante PWNY dal 24 al 30 luglio 2017!

Ciao Anastasia, vuoi dirci qualcosa su di te, chi sei?
Chi sono io? Sono una persona che ha deciso di vivere in stretta relazione con il mondo, conduco una vita che regala esperienze complesse e che mi permette di capire a fondo – per quanto possibile – cosa voglia dire essere vivi. È questa la forza propulsiva che mi spinge.

Come hai iniziato a interessarti alla fotografia?
Vedi, la fotografia permette di fare tutto ciò che ho detto prima. Ti permette di vedere il mondo, dà un senso alla tua vita e ti permette di avere uno stile di vita tale per cui puoi continuamente alimentare la tua curiosità per il mondo e chiederti sempre “perché, perché, perché…”. Grazie alla fotografia posso andare più a fondo nelle cose, e cogliere l’essenza delle persone delle situazioni, dei luoghi. La fotografia ha influenzato la mia vita professionale e privata, è la vita che mi sono creata. Decisi che sarei diventata una fotogiornalista a 16 anni, e anche se all’epoca non avevo ben presente cosa questo volesse dire, tuttavia già comprendevo che sarebbe stato quello il mio biglietto di andata per il mondo, un modo per vedere posti e incontrare persone che non avrei incrociato altrimenti.

Come si è evoluta la tua ricerca nel tempo? Spesso ti occupo di temi come la guerra, questioni di genere, politiche sociali (The National Womb), come scegli i tui temi?
Seguo semplicemente i miei interessi, la mia curiosità e a volte la mia reazione impulsiva quando sento alcune storie e mi dico “ci devo andare!”. Il mio lavoro non è su commissione, è frutto delle mie ricerche e mi permette di seguire il mio istinto. Questo accade per le mie fotografie ma anche per ciò che scrivo e per i miei studi.

Considerando alcuni tuoi lavori (The National Womb, Welcome to Donetsk), hai un interesse particolare per l’Est Europa?
Adoro l’Est Europa e la Russia! Adoro anche il Medio Oriente, ho vissuto lì per tre anni, in Siria e poi in Libano. Mi sento a casa in quei luoghi; e poi amo il loro cibo, spesso lo stomaco è un fattore importante nei miei progetti! [ride, NdA]

All’interno di“Welcome to Donetsk” usi diversi stili e forme d’arte (fotografia, scrittura, lettere, cartoline), come hai creato questo sistema artistico?
Si tratta di un tema a me molto caro; sto scrivendo ora un libro sulla guerra e su come sia rappresentata, per cui la scrittura fa sempre parte dei miei progetti. Non voglio autolimitarmi; a inizio carriera avevo belle idee ma le scartavo perché dicevo, “devo scattare fotografie”. Ora sono molto più libera; se voglio raccontare una storia uso il video, cartoline, ritratti, still life, parole scritte e resoconti verbali. Il fotogiornalismo si presta molto allo storytelling; scrivere vuol dire andare in un posto e raccontare cosa accade. Se sto lavorando a un progetto sociale come Welcome to Donetsk, la base è fotogiornalistica ma lo sviluppo è molto differente.

Come utilizzi i social media?
I social sono uno strumento come altri; mi piace sperimentare con i social e in questo caso creo progetti specifici, come i video che ho creato in grado di mostrare cosa vedo quando realizzo dei ritratti. È bello poter realizzare video così facilmente, così come pubblicare foto su Instagram. Oggi dobbiamo avere una mentalità aperta e approcciare liberamente gli strumenti a nostra disposizione, è un modo veramente eccitante di lavorare!

Cosa ami di più nell’insegnare?
Amo insegnare perché farlo mi ricorda cosa amo di più nella fotografia. Mi ispira sempre così tanto essere in una stanza con altri fotografi e guardare immagini, discutere, pensare cosa voglia dire essere un fotografo oggi. Questo tipo di conversazioni mi dà una grande energia, imparo sempre tantissimo.

Cosa pensi dell’estetica dominante, soprattutto in nelle immagini fotogiornalistiche?
L’idea che si debba seguire una estetica dominante è molto comune, credo sia un vero problema. La mancanza di estetiche personali forse deriva dal fatto che la maggior parte di fotogiornalisti sono maschi bianchi, eterosessuali, occidentali. Da due anni mi interesso di questi temi, e spero che avremo modo di parlare di questo durante il workshop.

Che relazione hai con la città di New York?
È una città che amo, mi piacerebbe suggerirvi alcuni profili instagram di persone che la raccontano in modo inusuale:
Ruddy Roy @ruddyroy
Amir Alfiqy amr_alfiqy
Peter Van Agtmael pvanagtmael

Hai qualche suggerimento per chi frequenterà il tuo workshop?
Vorrei che gli studenti fossero onesti, aperti e che avessero voglia di condividere le proprie esperienze e il senso di ciò che fanno. Spero che creeremo un ambiente che favorisce il dialogo e che potremo discutere dei temi “caldi” della fotografia. “Che ruolo ha il fotografo oggi”, ecco di cosa parlerò. Allo stesso tempo, andremo molto nello specifico, con sezioni di editing, capiremo come creare sequenze e storie dai propri scatti. Consiglierei anche tre libri da leggere:
“Believing is seeing – observations on the mysteries of photography” by Errol Morris
“Regarding the pain of others” by Susan Sontag
“Ways of seeing” by John Berger

E se tu potessi essere un personaggio del passato, chi sceglieresti?
Un fotografo perché deve essere stato bellissimo scattare foto negli anni Venti o Trenta! Una delle ragioni per cui amo così tanto la fotografia è che è la cosa più vicina a un viaggio nel tempo che abbiamo. Quindi vorrei essere Roger Fenton, impegnato a documentare la Guerra di Crimea in un furgone col mio cane!

Il workshop “Creating intimate, long-form narratives” si terrà dal 24 al 30 luglio 2017, le iscrizioni sono aperte ed è possibile iscriversi usufruendo della Early Bird promo fino al 5 maggio!

Per maggiori informazioni sul workshop, è possibile visitare la pagina sul sito di PWNY o scriverci a info@photoworkshopnewyork.com

Il workshop è aperto a tutti!